Beier, Lofdahl and Mercurio named outstanding student leaders

Monday, April 24, 2017
Beier, Lofdahl and Mercurio named outstanding student leaders

2017 Nebraska Outstanding Student Leadership Award finalists, not pictured: Angela Mercurio
2017 Outstanding Student Leadership Award finalists. (Top left: Eastin Allgood, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Juan N. Franco, Taylor Lofdahl. Bottom left: Brianna Ridenour, Olivia Beier, Tiffany Truong. Not pictured: Angela Mercurio.)

Olivia Beier of Omaha, Taylor Lofdahl of Omaha and Angela Mercurio of Kitchener, Ontario, Canada received the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s 2017 Outstanding Student Leadership Awards.

Juan Franco, vice chancellor for student affairs, presented the awards during an April 21 ceremony at the Van Brunt Visitors Center.

As part of the award, Beier and Lofdahl will each receive a full tuition scholarship for the fall semester. While eligible for the scholarship as an award recipient, Mercurio cannot accept the award per NCAA rules.

Coordinated by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and selected through multiple committees, the Outstanding Student Leadership Award annually recognizes top students for exceptional leadership contributions at Nebraska and efforts to develop leadership qualities in fellow students. The Outstanding Student Leadership Award is one of the highest honors presented to students, recognizing outstanding leadership in academic, co-curricular, and/or extracurricular activities and involvement.

In addition to Beier, Lofdahl and Mercurio, four students were honored as finalists and 13 as semifinalists for the awards.

Eastin Allgood of Lincoln, NE
Olivia Bond of Omaha, NE
Brianna Ridenour of Alliance, NE
Tiffany Truong of Lincoln, NE

Shayne Arriola of Grand Island, NE
Angelica Carlini of Grand Island, NE
Berkley Fierro of Rapid City, SD
Jonathan Freese of Lincoln, NE
Libby Gentry of Leawood, KS
Emma Himes of Omaha, NE
Alex Janvrin of Elkhorn, NE
Kaitlyn LaCroix of South Elgin, IL
Kelsey Moss of Omaha, NE
Lawrence Nguyen of Lincoln, NE
Margaret Silhasek of Byron, MN
Camille Sippel of Groton, SD
Joseph Zach of Omaha, NE

More News About: